Skip to Main Content


Short profiles of Christian denominations in the U.S.

About the Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod

Date Founded:  1847

Membership/Number of Clergy:  2,383,084/9,196 as of 2016.  The second largest Lutheran denomination.

Headquarters:  1333 S. Kirkwood Rd., St. Louis, MO  63122

Schools & Seminaries:  Ten colleges in the Concordia University SystemConcordia Seminary and Concordia Theological Seminary.

Publications:   The Lutheran Witness


Social Media:  Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube, LinkedIn, Instagram, and radio station KFUO streaming online at

Core Beliefs: "Our congregations accept and preach the Bible-based teachings of Martin Luther that inspired the reformation of the Christian Church in the 16th century. The teaching of Luther and the reformers can be summarized in three phrases: Grace alone, Faith alone, Scripture alone."  "Lutheran congregations are confessional. Our congregations believe the Lutheran Confessions are a correct interpretation and presentation of biblical doctrine."

Short History:  Saxon and other German immigrants in the Midwest founded the church in 1847 and was known as The German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio and Other States until 1947. 

Local Churches:  The closest church to campus is Concordia Lutheran Church, 1127 E Broadway, Louisville, KY, 40204.  Use the church finder to find other congregations.

LCMS Symbol

Lutheran Church Missouri Synod symbol