Skip to Main Content

Denominations - Protestant

Short profiles of selected Christian denominations in the U.S.

Anglican Province of Christ the King


Date Founded:  1977

Membership/Number of Clergy:  Not available.

Headquarters:  2725 Sacramento Street, San Francisco, CA 94115

Schools & Seminaries:  St. Joseph of Arimathea Anglican Theological College

Publications:  The American Church Union is the publishing arm of the APCK.  There do not seem to be any APCK periodicals.


Core Beliefs: "Our beliefs are stated in the ancient creeds of the church and on the pages of the 1928 Book of Common Prayer. We are committed to traditional forms of doctrine and liturgy."

Short History:  Formed in 1977 in response to a restructuring of the Episcopal Church at the 1976 Episcopal Convention in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Those churches forming the then Diocese of Christ the King were concerned about the liberalization they saw in the faith and practices of the Episcopal Church.  As the APCK grew, the need for a new form of organization necessitated the creation of four diocese comprising the Province of Christ the King. For more information see:

Local churches nearest to the LPTS campus:

Grace Church-Nazareth Home, St. Simeon Skete, 185 Captain's Cove Dr., Taylorsville, KY 40071

*Be sure to check their website for the schedule of services prior to visiting.  Not all services are open to the public. 

Church locator: