Skip to Main Content

Denominations - Protestant

Short profiles of selected Christian denominations in the U.S.

About the Community of Christ

Date Founded:  1830

Membership/Number of Clergy:  178,382/20,420 as of 2007.  The clergy number includes ministers other than just congregational leaders.

Headquarters: 1001 W. Walnut, Independence, MO 64050

Schools & Seminaries:  Graceland University, Community of Christ Seminary

Publications:  Herald


Social Media:  Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram

Core Beliefs:  A Christ-centered, peace and missionary oriented church that ordains women, does not discriminate on the basis or sex, color, or sexual orientation.  "The Bible is our foundational scripture. Community of Christ also uses the Book of Mormon and the Doctrine and Covenants, because they confirm the Bible’s message that Jesus Christ is the Living Word of God. When responsibly interpreted and faithfully applied, scripture provides divine guidance and inspired insight for our discipleship."  "Sacraments are baptism, confirmation, the Lord's Supper (Communion), marriage, blessing of children, laying on of hands for the sick, ordination to the priesthood, and evangelist blessing."

Short History:  Formerly known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  Founded in 1830 by Joseph Smith and moved headquarters from New York to Ohio to Missouri experiencing persecution in each place.  After the death of Joseph Smith, the movement splintered with a large group led by Brigham Young heading west to the Utah territory.  Smith's descendants led this denomination until the 1996. 

Local Churches:  The Louisville congregation meets at 4800 South Third Street
Louisville, KY 40214-2126.  The New Albany, IN congregation meets at 1221 Silver Street
New Albany, IN 47150-2729.  Use the Find a Congregation page to locate other congregations.

Community of Christ Symbol

Community of Christ symbol