Skip to Main Content


Short profiles of Christian denominations in the U.S.

About the Church of the Lutheran Brethren

Date Founded:  1900

Membership/Number of Clergy:  approximately 115 congregations

Headquarters:  1020 Alcott Avenue West, Fergus Falls, MN  56538

Schools & Seminaries:  Lutheran Brethren Seminary

Publications:  Faith & Fellowship


Social Media:  Facebook, Twitter, Vimeo

Core Beliefs: "The Bible, including both Old and New Testaments as originally given, is the verbally and plenarily inspired Word of God and is free from error in the whole and in the part, and is therefore the final authoritative guide for faith and conduct." "There is one God eternally existent in three distinct persons in one divine essence, Father, Son and Holy Spirit."  "The office of pastor and elder is to be filled by men only."  The Sacraments are Communion and Baptism.  See more at

Short History:  Five independent Lutheran congregations came together to form the CLB with a church constitution based on that of the Free Lutheran Church of Norway.  Missionary work began very shortly after formation and has remained an emphasis.

Local Churches:  There are no churches within easy driving distance of Louisville. For a list of churches by state see

CLB Symbol

Church of the Lutheran Brethren symbol