LibGuides: E. M. White Library: About Us: Collection

Print Collections

The E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to determine where books are shelved.

Reference Collection:

The reference collection houses biblical commentaries, encyclopedias and other essential reference materials.
Excerpts from reference items may be copied or scanned, but may not be checked out or taken from the library.

Circulating Book Stacks

Basement: Bound periodicals, Black Church Studies Collection, Rare Books, Archives
1st floor: D800 -- ZA9999
2nd floor: BT1200 -- D799
3rd floor (main floor): BR563 -- BT1199
4th floor: A1 -- BR520

Black Church Studies: This collection includes materials related to the Black Church experience in the following areas: history, theology, biblical studies, denominational studies, religious education, civil rights, and justice issues. These books can be checked out and are located in the Black Church Studies room, accessible from the Reference Room.

Bound Journals and Magazines: These are typically bound by volume or year, and are located in the library basement.(current issues are located in the Reference Room)

Rare Books: This location houses DMin projects, faculty publications, etc. and is closed to public. Please contact library staff if a volume is needed.

Seminary Archives: Archives is available to library staff only. Please contact us if research or images are needed from this collection.

Browsing

The following call numbers are useful for browsing the collection.

E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books in the library.
- BR 1 - 1725 Christianity
- BS 1- 2970 The Bible
- BT 10-1480 Doctrinal Theology
- BV 5-30 Worship
- BV 4000-4199 Pastoral care
- BV 4200-4317 - Homiletics
- BV 4485 - 5099 - Practical Religion, Christian Life
- BX 1 - 9999 - Christian Denominations
- HN - 1-995 Social History, social problems
- HQ 1-2044 - Family, Marriage, Women
- HV 40-4630 - Social Services
- RC 475-569 - Therapy, Personality Disorders

Online Collections

African American Historical Serials Collection developed in conjunction with American Theological Library Association (Atla) as an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture, features more than 170 unique publications spanning from 1829 through 1922. This collection includes periodicals, newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions. EBSCOHost
Digital Karl Barth Library Included in the collection are the English translation of Barth's magnum opus, The Church Dogmatics, in its entirety. The original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, is also included as are the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe and English translations of thirteen important texts by Barth. Produced in association with the Theologischer Verlag Zürich (TVZ) and Princeton Theological Seminary, Alexander Street Press is pleased to offer the first major online collection of Karl Barth's works combining comprehensiveness with a carefully crafted set of text-analysis tools.
eBook Religion Collection 9,180 titles from over 150 publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views. EBSCOHost
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This database includes more than 2.1 million records from 1902 to the present including: Book chapters, books, conference papers, professional journals, statistical documents, and theses and dissertations. Comprised of four database files, Family & Society Studies Worldwide meets educational needs of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. It indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. This is not a full-text database. EBSCOHost
Family Studies Abstracts This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. EBSCOHost
JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection JSTOR is a premier humanities digital library with a powerful research and teaching platform. In addition to the journals in the Religion and Theology collection (title list forthcoming here), we can access more than 6,500 Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This database includes nearly 480 full-text journals covering: emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology. This collection offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. EBSCOHost
Psychtherapy.net Streaming Videos Collection This collection of 50 videos are of interested to those enrolled in the MAFT program.
Sociological Collection This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Ministry Matters This link opens in a new window Diverse collection of commentaries, articles, and books designed to aid the minister in preaching, teaching, and study. Open the Research Library tab to see a list of titles.

E. M. White Library: About Us

Quick Links

Quick Links

Morgan: Library Catalog

Research Databases

Library Hours

Print Collections

The E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to determine where books are shelved.

Reference Collection:

The reference collection houses biblical commentaries, encyclopedias and other essential reference materials.

Excerpts from reference items may be copied or scanned, but may not be checked out or taken from the library.

Bound Journals and Magazines: These are typically bound by volume or year, and are located in the library basement.(current issues are located in the Reference Room)

Rare Books: This location houses DMin projects, faculty publications, etc. and is closed to public. Please contact library staff if a volume is needed.

Seminary Archives: Archives is available to library staff only. Please contact us if research or images are needed from this collection.

Browsing

Online Collections

Biblical Commentaries

Our library offers access to a wide variety of Biblical commentaries.