Skip to Main Content

E. M. White Library: About Us

Archives

The LPTS Archives holds documents, photographs and objects that pertain to the history of the Seminary.

  • Please be aware the Seminary Archives primarily collects materials relating the our Seminary. For general Presbyterian historical materials, please contact the Presbyterian Historical Society.

  • While the Archives is closed to visitors, library staff may contacted regarding the archive contents. Some of the more popular items of the archives are our Class Photographs, which have been digitized. Click below to browse these fascinating photographs. 

Sharp Art collection

Backsliding by C. J. Bradford, pen and ink
A Miracle by Michael Winegarden, Mixed media on canvas
Saint Benedict of Palermo (This Holy Black) by Glen Ayers, paint on tin
Imporacion (A Visual Image of the Trinity), Jesus Mata Espino, Paper
Ready or Not- Here I Come by Elizabeth K. Miller, acrylic painting
The Garden of Eden by Manuel Lepe, acrylic painting

The Sharp Art Collection consists of more than 50 paintings and sculptures by various contemporary artists on religious themes. The collection was donated to the seminary by an alumnus, the Rev. David Sharp, in appreciation of the education he received there. The works represent a variety of styles and media, and are located throughout the Louisville Seminar campus. To browse the Sharp Art Collection, click on the link below.

Brainard Lemon Pottery Collection

Water Jug Believed to be a local imitation of an imported Mycenaean jug. Has a rope-twisted handle and red painted bands.
Cypriot Juglet with black geometric Decoration
Bronze Hand Mirror
Chalice with lotus petals
Ointment bottle
Pilgrim Flask
Saucer Lamp
Large Amphora
Large Globular Cooking Pot

The Brainard Lemon Pottery Collection: The existence of this collection of artifacts is due largely to Mr. Brainard Lemon who was on the board of trustees of the seminary and owner of the Louisville jewelry company Lemon and Sons.  In 1929 Lemon purchased over 288 artifacts, largely Palestinian pottery, specifically for the Seminary.  The collection has grown since Lemon's gift and now contains over 350 pieces. 

A full history of the collection was written in 1975 by then Professor of Old Testament Arnold B. Rhodes. Access the history here:  

A Brief History of the Archeological Museum.

This digital version of the collection represents some of the most important items from the collection, and will continue to grow as more items are photographed and catelogued. To access the collection, please click the link below.