Skip to Main Content

Faculty Guide

ebook icon

Find eBooks, book chapters, commentaries, and ministry aids.

Use Morgan Discovery to access the entire collection of eBooks available.
Use a specific eBook package (listed below) to search for books in distinct disciplines or vendors.

Please note:

  • For broad eBook searches Morgan Discovery (library catalog) is recommended rather than an eBook package! Why? EBook Searches in Morgan allow you to access subscribed or open access titles available in ALL databases at once! LPTS EBooks are purchased in many different platforms, and this is the only way to quickly find them in one search!

  • When accessing eBooks off campus, patrons will be asked to sign in using their LPTS Outlook ID and password (what is used for LPTS email and Canvas). Note: only current LPTS students, faculty and staff can access purchased eBooks off-campus. The "Sign In" link at the top right of the Morgan catalog screen allows you to access your Morgan account (this is used to see what you have checked out, etc.) NOT for access to eBook content. 

 

Search the Morgan Library Catalog:

Subscribed eBook packages

  • Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts The collection includes digital facsimiles and searchable texts of Protestant Christian reformers including Luther, Calvin, Zwingli, Tyndale, Melanchthon, Beza, Bucer, Bullinger, Chemnitz, Episcopius, Oecolampadius, Cranmer, Menno Simons, Arminius, and many others whose writings shaped and defined the Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Presbyterian, Baptist, Anabaptist, Puritan, and Congregationalist traditions. Some works supplemented by English translations. Selected by scholars from universities across Europe and the U.S. including Harvard, Geneva, Tubingen, Zurich, Cambridge, Princeton, Oxford, Duke, Yale, and Munich.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online This resource provides unrivaled access to six essential Oxford editions of the Bible alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles seamlessly combined with reference material and primary texts.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online (Biblical Studies)
     
  • Oxford Handbooks Online (Religion)
     
  • Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion
     
  • Ebsco eBook Religion Collection 9,180 titles from over 150 publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views. EBSCOHost
     
  • EBSCO eBook Collection Search all EBSCO eBook subscription and purchases in one database.
     
  • Encyclopedia Judaica Encyclopaedia Judaica by Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, eds. 2nded. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 18015 pp. 22 vols. Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students. Published by Gale and uses the Gale ebooks interface; don't forget to choose a volume from midway on the screen. Example, if you are looking for the Hebrew word shekinah (shecinah) choose 18 San - Sol and then find the word.
     
  • Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception Online The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is the first and only comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception. With 7315 online entries, it is an essential resource for scholars in Biblical, Cultural, and Religious Studies and related fields. Brought to us by De Gruyter. EBR (~18 volumes) is also available in print in the library Reference Room.
     

Print Collections

The E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to determine where books are shelved.

Reference Collection:

  • The reference collection houses biblical commentaries, encyclopedias and other essential reference materials.

  • Excerpts from reference items may be copied or scanned, but may not be checked out or taken from the library.

Circulating Book Stacks

  • Basement: Bound periodicals, Black Church Studies Collection, Rare Books, Archives
  • 1st floor: D800 -- ZA9999
  • 2nd floor: BT1200 -- D799
  • 3rd floor (main floor): BR563 -- BT1199
  • 4th floor: A1 -- BR520

Black Church Studies: This collection includes materials related to the Black Church experience in the following areas: history, theology, biblical studies, denominational studies, religious education, civil rights, and justice issues. These books can be checked out and are located in the Black Church Studies room, accessible from the Reference Room.

Bound Journals and Magazines:  These are typically bound by volume or year, and are located in the library basement.(current issues are located in the Reference Room)

Rare Books: This location houses DMin projects, faculty publications, etc. and is closed to public. Please contact library staff if a volume is needed.

Seminary Archives: Archives is available to library staff only. Please contact us if research or images are needed from this collection.

 

 

 

eBook/database access troubleshooting

Why can't I see the full text?

Why am I not able to see the text of an ebook that is listed as available? I clicked on an ebook link for my class and I was able to log in but when I click on the ebook I can't read the actual text.

NOTE: Remote access is only available for current LPTS faculty, students and staff.

For the current LPTS community, there are a number of reasons you may be encountering access problems. In some cases, only a certain number of people can access an e-book at any one time. If that is the case, you may have to keep trying until someone who is looking at that specific ebook signs out. 
In some instances, it can be a browser issue. Try opening a different browser -- Mozilla Firefox, Edge, Chrome, etc. -- and try again. Mozilla Firefox is recommended by the E. M. White Library. 

If you continue to have access issues, please send an email to library@lpts.edu and include:

1.    title and author of book you are trying to access
2.    browser you are using
3.    any error or access denied messages you are receiving
4.    as much detail as possible

I can't access the full-text at home!

For off-campus access, patrons will be prompted to sign in with their LPTS Outlook credentials (the same used to access LPTS email and Canvas).

  • Can't remember your LPTS Outlook credentials? Contact RFX Support to get your password reset.
  • "Sign In" links (such as the Morgan sign in link) are NOT for remote access.
  • Contact the library Help Desk at library@lpts.edu if you continue to encounter problems.