LPTS Logo
Library Home Page
Resources Services About Hours Contact
Catalog Databases Interlibrary Loan Library Help Desk
Skip to Main Content

E.M. White Library Quick Start

Morgan Discovery Library Catalog

Books, eBooks, journals, articles, videos and much more can be found in our library catalog, Morgan.

  • Go to Morgan, and enter keywords, author names or titles in the search box.

  • eBook search: select "ebook" from the filter options on the left side.

  • Additional filters: author, articles only, publication year range, subject, etc. are are present on the left side.

NOTE: Access to eBooks and articles off-campus will require LPTS Outlook log in credentials and is only available to current students, faculty and staff. (what is used for LPTS email and Canvas).

Alums may access an abbreviated ATLA database, ATLAS for Alums - see Access for Alums

 

Please note:

  • For broad eBook or article searches, Morgan (library catalog) is recommended. EBook and article Searches in Morgan allows access to subscribed or open access titles available in many databases at once. 

  • Logging in to remote resources: The "Sign In" link at the top right of the Morgan catalog screen allows you to access your Morgan account (this is used to see what you have checked out, etc.) NOT for access to eBook content.

Finding Books/eBooks tutorial

Where Are Print Books Shelved?

The E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to determine where books are shelved.

Reference Collection:

  • The reference collection houses biblical commentaries, encyclopedias and other essential reference materials.

  • Excerpts from reference items may be copied or scanned, but may not be checked out or taken from the library.

Circulating Book Stacks

  • Basement: Bound periodicals, Black Church Studies Collection, Rare Books, Archives
  • 1st floor: D800 -- ZA9999
  • 2nd floor: BT1200 -- D799
  • 3rd floor (main floor): BR563 -- BT1199
  • 4th floor: A1 -- BR520

Black Church Studies: This collection includes materials related to the Black Church experience in the following areas: history, theology, biblical studies, denominational studies, religious education, civil rights, and justice issues. These books can be checked out and are located in the Black Church Studies room, accessible from the Reference Room.

Bound Journals and Magazines:  These are typically bound by volume or year, and are located in the library basement.(current issues are located in the Reference Room)

Rare Books: This location houses DMin projects, faculty publications, etc. and is closed to public. Please contact library staff if a volume is needed.

Seminary Archives: Archives is available to library staff only. Please contact us if research or images are needed from this collection.

Browsing Print Books

The following call numbers are useful for browsing the collection.

  • E.M. White Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books in the library.
    • BR 1 - 1725 Christianity
    • BS 1- 2970 The Bible
    • BT 10-1480 Doctrinal Theology
    • BV 5-30 Worship
    • BV 4000-4199 Pastoral care
    • BV 4200-4317 - Homiletics
    • BV 4485 - 5099 - Practical Religion, Christian Life
    • BX 1 - 9999 - Christian Denominations
    • HN - 1-995 Social History, social problems
    • HQ  1-2044 - Family, Marriage, Women
    • HV  40-4630 - Social Services
    • RC 475-569 - Therapy, Personality Disorders

Access To Books We Don't Own

Interlibrary Loan Icon

 

 

 

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables staff the ability to request materials from other libraries. This includes both physical items like books or articles from journals we do not own. ILL requests are placed through the OCLC-ILL system and can take 1-3 weeks to be filled, depending on the lending library. Article and chapter requests are fulfilled electronically. For materials to be returned to the lending library, the due date and any late fees are determined by that library and are passed on to the patron.

Staff person responsible for area: Bobi Bilz
Email: bbilz@lpts.edu

To request an item via Interlibrary Loan, please fill out the appropriate form below:

Please Note: ILL Services are available to current LPTS students and employees. 

 

 

 

eBook/database access troubleshooting

Why can't I see the full text?

Why am I not able to see the text of an ebook that is listed as available? I clicked on an ebook link for my class and I was able to log in but when I click on the ebook I can't read the actual text.

NOTE: Remote access is only available for current LPTS faculty, students and staff.

For the current LPTS community, there are a number of reasons you may be encountering access problems. In some cases, only a certain number of people can access an e-book at any one time. If that is the case, you may have to keep trying until someone who is looking at that specific ebook signs out. 
In some instances, it can be a browser issue. Try opening a different browser -- Mozilla Firefox, Edge, Chrome, etc. -- and try again. Mozilla Firefox is recommended by the E. M. White Library. 

If you continue to have access issues, please send an email to library@lpts.edu and include:

1.    title and author of book you are trying to access
2.    browser you are using
3.    any error or access denied messages you are receiving
4.    as much detail as possible

I can't access the full-text at home!

For off-campus access, patrons will be prompted to sign in with their LPTS Outlook credentials (the same used to access LPTS email and Canvas).

  • Can't remember your LPTS Outlook credentials? Contact RFX Support to get your password reset.
  • "Sign In" links (such as the Morgan sign in link) are NOT for remote access.
  • Contact the library Help Desk at library@lpts.edu if you continue to encounter problems.