LibGuides: Library Orientation: Resources

Video Tutorials

Searching the library catalog, Morgan

Remote Access to Online Resources

Finding Biblical Commentaries

Finding Research Databases

Help Desk: Getting General and Research Help

Accessing Course Reserves

Setting Up a Library Catalog (Morgan) Account

Borrowing

Anyone borrowing library materials agrees that it is their responsibility to:
•   Return item(s) by the specified date and time
•   Ensure care for the item by returning it in the same condition as it was when checked out
•   Pay replacement costs if the item is damaged, lost, or stolen while borrowed

Library Card
All LPTS students, staff, and faculty should use their LPTS ID card as their library card. Those who do not have an LPTS ID should contact the Louisville Seminary Communications Specialist.
All others should use the barcode/library card issued to them upon registering for a library account.

Patron Type	Loan Period*	Max # of Loans
Student	28 days	75
DMIN	45 days	75
Faculty	90 days	75
Staff	28 days	75
Alumni	28 days	10
Metroversity	28 days	10
Public	28 days	10

*Holds placed on items may limit loan periods including renewals. See Recalls below.
Audio Visual (CDs DVDs)
Audio Visual materials may be borrowed for 14 days and may be renewed for an additional 14 days.

Non-Circulating Items
Some materials in the library do not circulate; that is, they may be used only in the library. These include serials/periodicals, reference books, microforms, and items from Rare Book Room or the Archives.
Reference books should remain in the Reference Room. Reference books may be taken briefly to the photocopiers without special permission but should be returned to the reshelving cart in the Reference Room when copying is completed.

Recalls
An item may be recalled from a borrower after it has been checked out for two weeks. Recalled items must be returned within three days of the recall notice, after which the borrower’s account will be placed on hold until the item is returned.

Library Catalog

Books, eBooks, journals, articles, videos and much more can be found in our library catalog, Morgan.

To get started, go to Morgan, https://lpts.on.worldcat.org/discovery and simply enter keywords, author names or titles in the search box.
To filter for eBooks only, simply select "ebook" from the filter options on the left side.
Be aware that access to eBooks and articles off-campus will require LPTS Outlook log in credentials (what is used for LPTS email and Canvas). Remote access is only available to current LPTS students, faculty and staff. Alums may access an abbreviated ATLA database, ATLAS for Alums - see Access for Alums
It is possible to filter for publication year, author, subject and much more. Additional filters also appear on the left hand side of the Result List.

More about accessing eBooks:

Use Morgan Discovery (library catalog) to access the entire collection of eBooks available.
Use a specific eBook package (listed below) to search for books in distinct disciplines or vendors.

Please note:

For broad eBook searches Morgan Discovery (library catalog) is recommended rather than an eBook package! Why? EBook Searches in Morgan allow you to access subscribed or open access titles available in ALL databases at once! LPTS EBooks are purchased in many different platforms, and this is the only way to quickly find them in one search!
When accessing eBooks off campus, patrons will be asked to sign in using their LPTS Outlook ID and password (what is used for LPTS email and Canvas). Note: only current LPTS students, faculty and staff can access purchased eBooks off-campus. The "Sign In" link at the top right of the Morgan catalog screen allows you to access your Morgan account (this is used to see what you have checked out, etc.) NOT for access to eBook content.

Video Tutorial: Search for Books/eBooks

Morgan Account

Morgan catalog accounts

Why would I want a Morgan Account? Morgan accounts allow patrons to:

Request an book to be pulled to be held for pickup.
Save your searches,book lists and more. Don't recreate your searches over and over again. Save your search and your eBook/online journal/article links in one place!
Keep track of what books you have checked out.

Note: Don't confuse this account and sign-in link for Remote Resource Access (getting to full-text eBooks and articles)

How to set up a Morgan Account:

Go to Morgan at https://lpts.on.worldcat.org
Click on "Sign In," located at the top left corner of the screen
Click on "Set/Reset Password"
You next will be prompted to put in your username -- for most, this will be the first initial of your first name followed by your last name.
The system will send a message to the email address associated with your account with a link that will enable you to create a password [as this is an autogenerated email, it may go to your junk mail so check there if you do not see anything in your inbox.]
If you need to verify your Morgan username or email address, contact us and we can provide that information.

Video tutorial: Setting up a Morgan account

Databases

How to access databases and full-text articles and eBooks

Current LPTS students, faculty and Staff (visitors and LPTS Alums see below):

Patrons may search for articles in Morgan, the library catalog (allows searching multiple databases at once) or directly in a specific database, which are listed below. Searching directly in a database allows more precise searching).
Remote access to databases, articles and eBooks is available to Current LPTS students, faculty and staff only.
For off-campus access, patrons will be prompted to sign in with their LPTS Outlook credentials (the same used to access LPTS email and Canvas). "Sign In" links (such as the Morgan sign in link) are NOT for remote access.
Databases and articles may be searched directly in our subscribed databases listed below, or via Morgan - Library Catalog. The benefit of searching in Morgan is that many databases can be searched at once. Please note that searching in Morgan is limited as there are not as many filters available for narrowing your search.

LPTS Alums:

Alums have remote access to ATLAS for Alums, an abbreviated version of the ATLA database. However, ALUMS may come to the E.M. White Library building to access all of our subscribed databases.
Alums must access ATLAS for Alums here: ATLAS for Alums using the Alum ID S2699252 and password credentials. Contact the Library Help Desk - library@lpts.edu or call 502-992-9398 for the password, as this changes annually.
What journals are covered in ATLAS for Alums? Click here: ATLAS for Alums Coverage.
For questions or log-in issues, contact the E.M. White Library Help Desk at https://library@lpts.edu or call 502-992-9398.

Visitors

The library staff is happy to assist patrons from the public. However, public visitors must come to the library building to access remote resources such as eBooks and databases.
Please see https://lpts.libguides.com/About/Hours for our address, phone number and hours.

Video tutorial: Library remote access

Religious Studies Databases

Top Religion Databases: ATLA Religion Database, JSTOR Religion and Theological Collection

African American Historical Serials Collection developed in conjunction with American Theological Library Association (Atla) as an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture, features more than 170 unique publications spanning from 1829 through 1922. This collection includes periodicals, newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions. EBSCOHost
ATLA Religion Database This database combines with Atla Religion Database to allow access to full text of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Includes 530 full text journals. EBSCO Host
AtlaSerials, Religion Collection AtlaSerials®, Religion Collection contains 360+ full text major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology. EBSCOHost
Digital Karl Barth Library Included in the collection are the English translation of Barth's magnum opus, The Church Dogmatics, in its entirety. The original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, is also included as are the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe and English translations of thirteen important texts by Barth. Produced in association with the Theologischer Verlag Zürich (TVZ) and Princeton Theological Seminary, Alexander Street Press is pleased to offer the first major online collection of Karl Barth's works combining comprehensiveness with a carefully crafted set of text-analysis tools.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts The collection includes digital facsimiles and searchable texts of Protestant Christian reformers including Luther, Calvin, Zwingli, Tyndale, Melanchthon, Beza, Bucer, Bullinger, Chemnitz, Episcopius, Oecolampadius, Cranmer, Menno Simons, Arminius, and many others whose writings shaped and defined the Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Presbyterian, Baptist, Anabaptist, Puritan, and Congregationalist traditions. Some works supplemented by English translations. Selected by scholars from universities across Europe and the U.S. including Harvard, Geneva, Tubingen, Zurich, Cambridge, Princeton, Oxford, Duke, Yale, and Munich.
Ebsco eBook Religion Collection 9,180 titles from over 150 publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more. This compilation of texts explores religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems and world views. EBSCOHost
Encyclopedia Judaica Encyclopaedia Judaica by Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, eds. 2nded. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 18015 pp. 22 vols. Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students. Published by Gale and uses the Gale ebooks interface; don't forget to choose a volume from midway on the screen. Example, if you are looking for the Hebrew word shekinah (shecinah) choose 18 San - Sol and then find the word.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception Online The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is the first and only comprehensive reference work devoted to the Bible and its reception. With 7315 online entries, it is an essential resource for scholars in Biblical, Cultural, and Religious Studies and related fields. Brought to us by De Gruyter. EBR (~18 volumes) is also available in print in the library Reference Room.
Gale Unbound Primary Resource Religion Collections. Access Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1910 Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910 Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action
JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection JSTOR is a premier humanities digital library with a powerful research and teaching platform. In addition to the journals in the Religion and Theology collection (title list forthcoming here), we can access more than 6,500 Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press.
Ministry Matters Diverse collection of commentaries, articles, and books designed to aid the minister in preaching, teaching, and study. Open the Research Library tab to see a list of titles.
New Testament Abstracts This datbase containts abstracts of articles, reviews, and software and more than 24,400+ book summaries. Coverage Areas: New Testament general, Gospels-Acts, Epistles-Revelation, Biblical Theology and the World of the New Testament. EbscoHost
Old Testament Abstracts Old Testament Abstracts Online covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology, making it essential for those conducting research in the fields of religion and theology. EBSCOHost

Therapy/Human Development Databases

Therapy and Human Development

Top Databases: APA PsychInfo, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection. NOTE - you can search both at once. Once you are in the EBSCO platform, click on "Choose Databases" and click both databases. Adding Academic Search Complete is also helpful.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
APA PsycInfo APA PsychInfo the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Currently, there are 2, 281 journals included but the list changes often so be sure to check the title list as needed. EBSCOHost
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This database is produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year. EBSCOHost
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This database includes more than 2.1 million records from 1902 to the present including: Book chapters, books, conference papers, professional journals, statistical documents, and theses and dissertations. Comprised of four database files, Family & Society Studies Worldwide meets educational needs of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. It indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. This is not a full-text database. EBSCOHost
Family Studies Abstracts This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 53,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. EBSCOHost
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This database includes nearly 480 full-text journals covering: emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational and experimental methods, and psychiatry and psychology. This collection offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. EBSCOHost
psychotherapy.net Psychotherapy.net offers a library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychotherapy field.
Sociological Collection This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Course Textbook Reserves

Course Reserve Textbooks

Photo: Example of a class course reserve textbook entry. See "Course Reserve Landing Page" below.

What course textbooks are on reserve?

If interested in print books, ask at the Circulation Desk.
Course Reserve Landing Page is handy for finding find both print and online titles, and are grouped by course. Students may Search course reserves by term, professor or class number.
Print copies of books held on reserve may be checked out for 2 hours.* Students are free scan excerpts from books in the library lobby.
Patrons must be aware of and follow U.S. Copyright regulations when scanning materials.
While the library makes every effort to collect print and online editions of textbooks, the library may not have copies of all textbooks.

Video Tutorial: Accessing LPTS Course Reserves

Library Orientation

Video Tutorials

Borrowing